Birds of the Iberian Peninsula

150508 BOIP coverI’ve a lot of affection for Spain and Portugal – many years ago I went to school for a while in Alicante; I’ve worked off and on in both countries on various European projects; and lately, I’ve been spending a reasonable amount of free time (though not as much as I’d like) in Barcelona. They’re great places to visit, with fabulous big-hearted people, great food and, importantly for me, some terrific wildlife.

I’d been keenly awaiting the publication of the new regional avifauna, “The Birds of the Iberian Peninsula” – and so it was doubly pleasing to be asked to review it for those good people at Rare Bird Alert. I’ve spent the last couple of weeks immersed in it – for what could be a dry piece of non-fiction, it’s an amazingly engaging read. (If not an easy one on the arms – it weighs in at nearly 2kg!)

My review went online with Rare Bird Alert a couple of days ago. I don’t think I’m giving too much away when I say I really like this book and wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone with even a passing interest in Spanish or Portugese birding; or indeed, European birding – this is a book that encompasses an awful lot that’s relevant to more than the scope of the national borders the title suggests.

http://www.rarebirdalert.co.uk/v2/Content/book_review_birds_of_iberian_peninsula.aspx?s_id=508911492

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

